News Flash- New Glasses

kawasaki_631_main4I admit, I am vain.  And as I age, I go around and around in my mind, saying- “Look your best, keep trying! “  Versus , “Just be- no one is examining you.  Revel in that.”  And how about-“ Leave those concerns for all the gorgeous young things.”  Well, different days catch me in different moods.   Today I am feeling a little exposed, I took a chance, I am wondering what people will think… I got new glasses.

They are lightweight and they are comfortable.  They are well made and have all my required bells and whistles.  They are practical in their way.  They are also translucent lavender.

I hope they look good with my graying self while adding a touch of color and whimsy.  Not too obvious but showing just the right amount of spunk.  I want to be appropriate but not a wallflower.

Of course, I will be surprised at how few people notice my new glasses!  Lending evidence to my #2 statement  above.  But I am happy to have a change, a bit of color, something new on me as I walk out the door.

10 thoughts on “News Flash- New Glasses

  1. I love your friendly, candid approach in this post. As for the glass, they sound perfect — “translucent lavender … with [your] graying self … adding a touch of color and whimsy.” Personally, I find it hard to shop for new frames, to see how they look on me when I’m not able to look through my prescription lens.

    Like

  2. You captured what most women wrestle with regardless of their age. We worry we are not hip enough. We worry we are too hip and look ridiculous. You captured those struggles, made me smile and a bit of a giggle escaped. I’m so happy your final sentence nails it!! We all want to be happy, have a change, add a bit of color,and most of all have something new. Great word choice!

    Like

  3. *MSOSTERMAN49 * March 3, 2017 at 12:22 am

    You captured what most women wrestle with regardless of their age. We worry we are not hip enough. We worry we are too hip and look ridiculous. You captured those struggles, made me smile and a bit of a giggle escaped. I’m so happy your final sentence nails it!! We all want to be happy, have a change, add a bit of color,and most of all have something new. Great word choice!

    On Thu, Mar 2, 2017 at 5:36 PM, pencilonmybackporch wrote:

    > franmccrackin posted: “I admit, I am vain. And as I age, I go around and > around in my mind, saying- “Look your best, keep trying! “ Versus , “Just > be- no one is examining you. Revel in that.” And how about-“ Leave those > concerns for all the gorgeous young things.” Well, di” >

    Like

  4. I can’t wait to see you Fran! Maybe you’ll inspire me to be a bit more adventurous the next time I get new glasses.
    You aptly get at that tricky line between caring about how we look to telling ourselves it’s really not that important.

    Like

  5. Rock it, girl! I’m sure they are lovely and subtle! And (more importantly,) if you like them, others will follow along. I feel like I spend of most of my life being one step away from a hobo, but my friends have bought into the lie that I have “style,” because I’m cool with me. Own it, and it’s fashion! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment