A Little Space Around

Plum Cherry Blossom Cherry Flowers Spring

In Washington D.C where I live we love our cherry blossoms.  And not just the famous circle of trees around the tidal basin, remarkable gift from Japan heralding forgiveness and cooperation between former enemies.  We have planted cherry blossom trees everywhere.  Some neighborhoods have bordered their sidewalks with them.  Each spring, everybody with a yard lusts after their neighbor’s gorgeous tree and wants to plant one in their little parcel of soil, too.  As many have done.

But to love cherry blossoms- their clouds of rich true pink ageing to subtly-tinted white around your head and loose petals drifting in the breeze, is to make yourself open to heartache.  This winter had one last blast.  It took out about half of the flower buds.  Now, the remaining flower buds are opening above us on their black branches, against our gray spring skies.

They are so beautiful.  I might prefer this pared-down bloom.  When you have less, you see it better.  You can see the outlines of clusters and individual flowers.  You can see the interiors with pistils and stamens and maybe a bee.  You can see the dark gnarled twists supporting the branches of the oldest trees.

I don’t think I’m just a Pollyanna, declaring the good in any misfortune.  In other areas of my life I am also appreciating having a little less plenty- having a little space around.  This means de-cluttering, simplifying clothes choices, and being able to walk all the way into the garage and know what is there.  It means less food going bad in the corners of the fridge and fewer commitments so I can pick up and travel. It means giving up the American way of buying something and then finding that you already have one.  It means curating what you choose to own. It means experiencing more versus acquiring more.

I value being able to see better, and to move more freely.  Life is even more beautiful.

9 thoughts on “A Little Space Around

  1. Using the cherry blossoms was a great hook and then a great metaphor for your reflection. I especially liked the line: When you have less, you see it better. It was that transition sentence that had me as the reader thinking beyond the blossoms – what so I see better when there is less…less students (small group time), less time (so make the lost of it) and then your examples got me to think even more. Thanks for helping me reflect amongst the blossoms!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “But to love cherry blossoms- their clouds of rich true pink ageing to subtly-tinted white around your head and loose petals drifting in the breeze, is to make yourself open to heartache.”

    This send almost brought me to tears. So true and so beautifully expressed. Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. And your comment is making me think about time- I realize I hadn’t even gone there! And your point about small groups of students- very appropo. I should re-write and incude that, especially for this audience 🙂 It is so true.

    Like

  4. Love the positive spin and metaphors in your slice. Less is more, better and more clear view.

    We have a small weeping cherry tree that has seen its share of wintery blasts. Our landscaper told me three years ago that it needs to come out, but I just cannot bring myself to do it. Maybe after its last blooms fade, this will be the year to replant with another one.

    Thanks for an inspiring slice!

    Like

  5. The blossoms are breathtaking. I was hoping to get to DC this year and as yet am not sure. this post reminded me of my one little word a couple of years ago: SIMPLIFY. There’s such power in it!

    Like

  6. I like that you find a rich and important lesson in the beauty of fewer blossoms and then explore how one can actually see more, the parts of the flowers, the pollinators.

    Like

Leave a Reply

