The Escalator Ride as a Metaphor for the Passing of Time

GERMANY-WEATHER-FEATUREI’ll bet you know what I’m talking about-

When you ride an escalator, especially a long one (like I did tonight, coming up from the subway tunnel)  you stand there all balanced with your feet on the step and your hand on the rail.  Fine… fine… fine…

…and all of a sudden you realize your hand is getting away from you.  It is going just a little faster and now you have to stretch your arm and now your hand must release the rail and re-set , properly next to your body again.  And it’s a little disconcerting.

It always reminds me of that feeling in life where you have it all together… fine…fine…fine…

…and all of a sudden you realize you are behind.  Planning the event, getting the grades in, garden, taxes, you name it.  You feel disconcerted and have to make an adjustment to what you had thought was a harmonious state of balance.

As I ponder the escalator some more, I realize the reason it happens.  Your hand is on a longer trajectory than your feet.  If you think of the escalator stairs as a circle and the rail as a circle, your hand is on the larger circumference.  Coming back to my metaphor, it now seems to me to be a good thing- our reach should exceed where our feet are planted.  Adjust, and keep rising up!

4 thoughts on “The Escalator Ride as a Metaphor for the Passing of Time

  1. Wow! Your reflection leads to “our reach should exceed where our feet are planted. Adjust, and keep rising up!” And figured out by comparing your movement on a escalator to your inner feelings of a never ending to-do list. I love the way your math/science brain is always thinking and pondering and seeing the positives around you. I think I may print this post to ponder it some more! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Reading through your thoughts was amazing….I thought back on the many times I took the steep steps at Tenley……I want to take another ride soon so I can pay attention to all that goes on as I travel upward!

    Like

Leave a Reply

