Dorothy’s Birthday Today- 102!

Today I will put on my pink turtleneck, flowery silk scarf and pink lipstick to brighten up my appearance for a very special occasion.  My husband and I will go to lunch at a nearby nursing home with our friends Carol and Roger, to have a celebratory lunch with the guest of honor- Roger’s mother Dorothy.  Because today is Dorothy’s 102nd birthday.

I wrote about Dorothy’s 100th birthday two years ago.  That was in a restaurant, and family traveled from far away.  I sat with a little notebook in my lap to try and capture significant moments and phrases to include in the writing I knew would follow.  But in a group, there was not much chance to just simply chat with Dorothy.

This time I hope to ask her some questions.  I know I will not really ask the free-range questions I write here.  Some would be impudent, others too sad for the occasion.  And I know I will not “grill” her.  But I want to take a moment to wonder what I would love to ask Dorothy today.

  • What do you look forward to when you wake up each day?
  • What do you dislike?
  • What favorite memories do you return to?
  • Regrets?
  • What gives you pride?
  • What invention(s) did you get the most benefit from?
  • What do people do nowadays that you disapprove of?
  • What are your thoughts on love?
  • …second/third/fourth chances?
  • Would you have done anything differently if you had known you would live to this age?

What would you ask Dorothy?happy-birthday-wish

4 thoughts on “Dorothy’s Birthday Today- 102!

  1. Wow! I can only imagine what it must be like to have lived that long! I love your first question about what she looks forward to each day. Sometimes when I wake I have to remind myself that each new day holds the promise of a new adventure or opportunity. I hope I always remember that each day is a gift.

    Like

  2. I wonder what she is thinking on her end? Does she feel a level of wisdom that only comes from being 102? That us asking these questions is only an attempt to know what we never can until we have experienced her age? Hmmm…just pondering.

    Like

  3. At dinner tonight we talked about your friend and this question:
    What invention(s) did you get the most benefit from?
    We thought she’d say the car or the airplane.
    I hope you report on your exchange.
    What a lifetime…1915-2017+
    Lots to ponder….

    Like

Leave a Reply

