A Teacher Problem- Open to Advice

amzm174Today I discovered I have a problem, a teacher’s problem.  Something was taken from my classroom, something easy to covet.  You teachers out there know how this feels.  Ugh.  Even if I don’t care about what is missing, I have to deal with it.  Somehow.  Because it is not good for a child to get away with this.

I was teaching a lesson using a set of large mineral specimens.  Some (limestone) look like concrete.  Others (granite) have multiple colored specks.  Obsidian is enticing with its glossy black curving surfaces.  But I also had a piece of beautiful blue-green Amazonite.

And I talked them up, those rocks.  I told the five classes that came through my science room that these were valuable specimens, to build respect for the rocks in their hands.  But even if I hadn’t, I know that blue-green stone had many eyes on it, and quiet fingers itching to hold it.

In retrospect, I should have checked that it was back in the box after each class.  I think I checked after the second group and decided not to worry any more about it.  Now I can’t pin down which group “disappeared” it.

I can substitute another nice rock.  I can even replace it.  But I can’t let it slide.  I feel for the second grader- still so young- who will have that burden of conflicting feelings; of having something they love but shouldn’t have.

To quote our friend Dr. Seuss, “What would you do, if it happened to you?”

 

6 thoughts on “A Teacher Problem- Open to Advice

  1. Hmmm. I think you should talk to the class about it. Let them know that by coming forward they are able to right the wrong. And maybe they don’t even have to do it publicly. Simply by setting the rock on your desk, they are asking for forgiveness and it will be granted.

    I’m sorry you find yourself in this situation.

    Like

  2. This is a hard one. Could you talk to each group about what happened and how you feel about it? Suggest ways that the taker could make it right without having to face you? That could work if the child is now feeling guilty, which we would hope is the case. I hope there is a follow-up post with a resolution!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s always a bummer for sure! You want to trust kids and give them opportunities to just do the right thing but when they don’t it’s extremely disappointing. I would definitely talk with them about it and explain how they can still make it right by a confession. Then just to mess with them a bit you could tell them that you could just rewind the footage from the camera :)but wanted to give the person a chance to do the right thing. Hehe.

    Like

  4. I had a similar problem with a shell earlier this year that I had used for a story starter. I had given each student a shell as inspiration for a free write. One went missing, but before I could address it, the young man brought it back and apologized to me. Sometimes they surprise you. I love all the previous ideas. Hope you find it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

